JAN 2017 : Report of VI Annual State level Pathology Postgraduate Quiz

Rajarajeshwari Medical College, Bengaluru

Report of VI Annual State level Pathology postgraduate Quiz 2017 Held at RRMC Bengaluru..


Rajarajeswari Medical college and hospital, RGUHS, Bangalore in association with Indian association of Pathologists and Microbiologists, Karnataka Chapter(KCIAPM- Bangalore) have organized VI annual State level postgraduate Quiz on 20th, January 2017 at Kadamba Auditorium, RRMCH, Bangalore. 34teams from 20 different medical colleges have participated.

There was two rounds, an elimination round and Final round. The elimination round consisted of 60 MCQs in 1hr duration. There was overwhelming response from the Participants for the elimination round. Based on performance of elimination round, top 6 teams were chosen for final round.

Of the 6 teams, first five teams were selected without much difficulty. Four teams had scored the same marks [Commando Hospital Bangalore, BIMS Belagavi, KMIO Bangalore and SSIMS Davangere] for the 6thposition. Hence, we conducted a separate ‘Super 10’ for these teams, which resulted in selection of the 6th team.

Following the elimination round, inauguration of the ‘KPPL – 2017 Quiz’ was done by our beloved chairman Sri.A.C.Shanmugam and he congratulated the 6 teams which had entered the final round.

The 6 Finalists included: ESICMC & PGIMSR of Bangalore, Bangalore Medical College and Research Center, Bangalore, Kidwai Memorial Institute of Oncology, Bangalore, JJM Medical College, Davangere, Sri Devaraj Urs Medical College, Kolar and J.S.S Medical College, Mysore.

The Final round included further five Sub-rounds: The quiz masters for the first Sub-round ‘Mixed bag’ were Dr.Sharmila.P.S and Dr.Anisha.T.S. The second sub-round ‘Visual Pictures’ was conducted by Dr.V.Mahanthachar and Dr.Nalini.M. Later, the Third sub-round ‘Morphology to Molecular pathology’ was conducted by DR.C.J.Prakash and Dr.Shushan Shweta Jayker followed by fourth ‘Cytology’ sub-round by Dr.Latha.V. The quiz masters for the final decider ‘Rapid fire’ sub-round was Dr.Vamseedhar.A and Dr.Shashikala.K.

After a nail-biting decider, there was a lot of enthusiasm among the postgraduate students and audience due to a tie for the winner between ESICMC & PGIMSR of Bangalore and  Bangalore medical college and research center, Bangalore. Finally there was a ‘Special Rapid fire’ to decide the winning team.

Prizes were distributed to the winners. First prize comprised Rolling Trophy, Rs 6000/- cash prize, Robbin’s Text book of Pathology [South Asian edition], Momento and certificates were distributed to Dr.Nagarjun.B.R and Dr.Shaila Bhat – of Bangalore Medical College and Research Centre, Bangalore. Second prize comprising of Rs. 4,000/- cash prize with certificates, Momento and Text book of Techniques in Surgical Pathology was distributed to Dr.Afnan Gul and Dr.Nathiyal.V of ESICMC & PGIMSR of Bangalore. Third prize comprising Rs. 2000/- cash prize, certificates, Momento and Text book of Techniques in Surgical Pathology were issued to Dr.Soumya.T.M and Dr.Diwakar Sharma – Kidwai Memorial Institute of Oncology, Bangalore.  It was very much emphasized to have many more programs of this nature to create interest among the post graduates in the fast growing medical field. Dr Usha Ramachandra, Organizing Chairperson  conducted the proceedings of prize distribution ceremony with Dr.Sharmila.P.S and Dr.V.Mahanthachar.

Dr.V.Mahanthachar delivered the vote of thanks.

In future, we would like to have many more such events, which will benefit the students to gain more interest in pathology. We are sincerely thanking KCIAPM – Bangalore for their support and giving us the opportunity to host this event.