Mar 2014 : Report of Post Graduate Quiz

SDUMC, Kolar


3rd State Level Post Graduate Intercollegiate Pathology quiz was held on 1st March 2014 at Sri Devaraj Urs Medical College, Tamaka, Kolar -563101

During the run-up to this event, an organizing committee was constituted and the various responsibilities were distributed. This committee huddled on numerous occasions to chalk out the course of the event.

Our Honorable Vice Chancellor:  Dr P F Kotur, Registrar: Dr A V M Kutty and Principal: Dr M B Sanikop gave their full support and valuable guidance in organizing the event.

A flyer was designed and advertised on KCIAPM website, three months in advance as part of the early announcement.

Later the brochure was designed and sent to all HOD’s of various medical colleges and reminders were made telephonically. The response was very encouraging with a total of 23 teams from all over Karnataka State, representing 13 institutions.

The quiz was sponsored by our University: Sri Devaraj Urs Academy Of Higher Education & Research and Karnataka Chapter Of Indian Association Of Pathologists And Microbiologists. The prizes in the form of post graduate books were sponsored by Elsevier Publications and Wolters Kluwer Publications.


9.00 – 10.00 AM :

The event began with registration of all the participants followed by breakfast.

10.00 – 11.30 AM:

The preliminary round was a written test to each team and comprised of 70 multiple choice questions and 30 fill in the blanks. The  time allotted was 90 minutes.

 11.30 – 12.00 AM:

The event was inaugurated in the presence of our beloved Principal and Acting Vice Chancellor Dr. M.B Sanikop and PG Director Dr. S.R. Prasad. Head Of Department of Pathology and President KCIAPM, Dr. M.L Harendra Kumar  welcomed the dignitaries on the diaz. Inauguration began with an invocation song by Dr Sahithya K, an undergraduate student of SDUMC, Kolar. It was then followed by a welcome speech by Dr. T.N Suresh.Then the lighting of lamp was done by the dignitaries on the diaz and a post graduate participant. The presidential speech was given by our beloved Principal Dr. M.B.Sanikop followed by few words of encouragement and declaration of the competition open by Dr. S R Prasad. The President KCIAPM and HOD Dr. M L Harendra Kumar wished good luck to the organizing team and participants and marked the end of the inauguration ceremony.

12.00 – 1.30 PM

Before beginning the semifinal round, one of our prize sponsors, Wolter Kluwer spoke a few mins about their association with Pathology. Then the semifinal round began which constituted 08 Rounds comprising of 06 enthralling, mind boggling questions each and was conducted by the Quiz Master Dr. C.S.B.R Prasad himself.


The final round was divided into 11 rounds consisting of personality, stains, genetics, hematology, gross, clinical correlation, cytology, histopathology aand association round conducted by Dr. Prathima, Dr. Gayathri, Dr. Hemalatha, Dr. T.N.Suresh and Dr. CSBR Prasad respectively.

An audience round dedicated with a series of questions only to the participants in the audience was conducted by our Quiz Master, Dr CSBR Prasad in which every correct answer by a post graduate audience was righly rewarded with a pathology reference/ essential text book

Teams qualified for Semi-finals Teams qualified for Finals
1 Dr Supriya, Dr Pradeep - BMC & RI, Bangalore Dr Jayalaxmi Yadav, Dr Shilpa Mittal - BIMS, Belgaum
2 Dr Jayalaxmi Yadav, Dr Shilpa Mittal - BIMS, Belgaum Dr Kavitha Gupta, Dr Indira Shastri - KMC, Manipal
3 Dr Kavitha Gupta, Dr Indira Shastri - KMC, Manipal Dr Sulakshana M S, Dr Srinarthana S - BMC & RI, Bangalore
4 Dr Subhan Ali, Dr Namitha - Father Muller's, Mangalore Dr Supriya, Dr Pradeep - BMC & RI, Bangalore
5 Dr P J Shwetha, Dr Sumitha M P - KIMS, Bangalore
6 Dr Sulakshana M S, Dr Srinarthana S - BMC & RI, Bangalore

The finals were keenly contested and winners of the 3rd State Level Post Graduate Intercollegiate Pathology quiz were:

 1st PrizeBIMS, BelgaumDr. Jayalaxmi Yadav

Dr. Shilpa Mittal

2nd PrizeBangalore Medical College & Research Centre, BangaloreDr. Sulakshana M.S.

Dr. Srinarthana. S

3rd PrizeKMC, ManipalDr. Kavitha GuptaDr. Indira Shastri.



Individual momentos, winner certificates and prizes in the form of post graduate text books were given (Ist prize – Boyds Pathology, FNAC – Orelle and Bethesda Clinical Hematology, 2nd prize – Boyd Pathology and Henry’s Clinical Diagnosis and Management & 3rd prize – General Pathology by Walter and Israel and Robbins Basic Pathology) were awarded away by Dr. S.R Prasad, PG Director, Dr M.L Harendra Kumar, HOD and Hon. President KCIAPM and Dr.CSBR Prasad, Prof and Quiz Master. The rolling shield was awarded to the Ist prize winners Dr. Jayalaxmi Yadav and Dr. Shilpa Mittal of BIMS, Belgaum.

The participation certificates were distributed after collecting the feedback forms from the participants.

A final vote of thanks speech was given by our Organizing Secretary Dr. Swaroop Raj B V which marked the end of our pleasurable experience and we bid farewell to all the participants.